Demag Cranes supplies three process cranes to Interfer Rohrunion

Düsseldorf,   04.06.2012

  • Total crane solution tailored precisely to the requirements of the steel trade
  • Industry solution impresses with availability, performance and safety

Demag Cranes supplied three process cranes for the new external store of Interfer Rohrunion at the Voerde site, Germany. The three identical cranes of the Steelmaster type, each with a lifting capacity of 12 tonnes, place steel tubes and profiles into storage and transfer them for further processing to an adjacent hall complex.

In the new external store created over an area of 12,500 square metres, three highly versatile single-girder overhead travelling cranes equipped with magnet spreaders travel on a 450-metre-long crane runway. The cranes ensure that both the newly equipped high-performance sawing centre and processing area, and the zones for coating and order picking are supplied on schedule with the required steel tubes. The industry-specific requirements with regard to the availability and cargo handling performance of the crane installation, in addition to its safety design features, were correspondingly high.

Crane solution pursues corporate strategy
“Each year approx. 100,000 tonnes of steel tubes are ordered, sawn, processed or coated and delivered to our international customers as requested”, explains Werner Peters, operational manager at Interfer Rohrunion. “In order to actually be able to implement our requirements for maximum service and delivery performance, it was important for us to work with a partner such as Demag Cranes, who is precisely aware of the specific requirements of our industry and whose product and service quality can be relied upon in equal measure.”

Lutz Dowy, Head of Process Cranes adds: “Within the Demag product portfolio, Steelmaster is considered the logical response to the special process requirements of the steel trade. In practice, this process crane impresses by virtue of flexible applications, safe operation, fast handling and minimum wear of the installation. From the commercial viewpoint, the high availability and low costs also speak for the Steelmaster.


Additional information:

Flexible application for complex tasks
The three Demag single-girder travelling cranes used on a common crane runway have a span of 27.5 metres. They are each equipped with two synchronised hoists with a lifting capacity of 6.5 tonnes and can be used for variable tasks. The hoists are arranged on cantilever crabs and travel sideways along the crane carrier. This achieves a considerably larger hook path. Magnet spreaders are used as load handling attachments. They facilitate short attachment times for picking up tubes and ensure that the tubes are handled gently. High handling rates require high speeds: with long travel up to 80 m/min, cross travel up to 30 m/min and load-dependent hoisting speeds of up to 22 m/min, the requirements are fully met.
The cranes unload the road trucks, which deliver the material to three travel paths that cross the crane runway. Via this transport route, the tubes and profiles are taken by transport vehicles to the processing hall parallel to the external store.


Safety under strong wind and adverse weather conditions
Besides the required power of the crane, the top priority for Interfer Rohrunion is safety, which is related not least to factors influencing the availability of the installation. So it must first be ensured that the cranes do not collide on the crane runway. Demag Cranes solved this by means of integrated optical spacing, which ensures the required distance between the cranes.

Moreover, the process cranes are equipped with a mechanical load sway damping system. Sway motions are reduced to a minimum via a rope stabiliser arrangement in the crane and cross-travel direction. The result is more safety for staff, material and operation and higher speeds when handling, and gentle handling of the tubes.

Since the cranes in the external store are subjected to constantly changing weather conditions, Demag Cranes has equipped the hoists with weather protection roofs. Moreover, the crane installations have been equipped with two electromechanical wind drift safety catches, which prevent unintentional crane motions in strong wind or storm conditions. These wind drift safety catches, which click into place on the rail if required, can be activated by remote control.

 
About Interfer Rohrunion GmbH
Within the Knauf Interfer Group, Interfer Rohrunion is the specialist for seamless and welded distilling and boiler tubes and hollow steel profiles. For more than 30 years, thanks to storage in line with the market and modern logistics, the company has offered its customers high delivery performance and the advantages of a high-performance partner. The most recent investments in the location in Voerde, Germany include the construction of an external store on an area of 12,500 m².
In total, the company belonging to the Knauf Interfer Group today stores more than 30,000 tonnes of tubes of all grades and dimensions on the factory premises in Voerde. With the completed expansion of the production and logistics structures at the Voerde location, Interfer Rohrunion offers even more efficient service and even faster order processing.
 

About Demag Cranes
The Demag Cranes Group is one of the world’s leading suppliers of industrial cranes and crane components, harbour cranes and terminal automation technology. Services, in particular maintenance and refurbishment, are another key element of the Group’s business activities. The Group is divided into the business segments Industrial Cranes, Port Technology and Services and has strong and well-established Demag and Gottwald brands. Demag Cranes sees its core competence in the development and construction of technically sophisticated cranes and hoists as well as automated transport and logistics systems in ports and terminals, the provision of services for these products and the manufacture of high-quality components.

As a global supplier, Demag Cranes manufactures in 16 countries on five continents and operates a worldwide sales and service network that is present in over 60 countries through its subsidiaries such as Demag Cranes & Components GmbH and Gottwald Port Technology GmbH, agencies and a joint venture. In financial year 2010/2011, the Group, with its 6,115 employees, generated revenue of EUR 1,062.3 million. Since August 2011, the Terex Group in the United States (www.terex.com) has held a majority share in the company.

Demag Cranes AG. We Can Handle It.


 


 

Download Press Release (PDF | 84.6 KB)


Conditions for forward-looking statements
This press release contains forward-looking statements relating to the business, financial performance and earnings of Demag Cranes AG and its subsidiaries and associates. Forward-looking statements are based on current plans, estimates, projections and expectations and are therefore subject to risks and uncertainties, most of which are difficult to estimate and which in general are beyond the control of Demag Cranes AG. Consequently, actual developments as well as actual earnings and performance may differ materially from those which are explicitly or implicitly assumed in the forward-looking statements. Demag Cranes AG does not intend or accept any obligation to publish updates of these forward-looking statements.

back to overview

Your contact



 
 

Fairs & exhibitions

fairs and exhibitions


 

© Terex MHPS GmbH

Demag Cranes liefert drei Prozesskrane an Interfer Rohrunion

Düsseldorf,   04. Juni 2012

  • Kran-Gesamtlösung exakt für die Anforderungen des Stahlhandels
  • Branchenlösung überzeugt mit Verfügbarkeit, Leistung und Sicherheit

Demag Cranes hat drei Prozesskrane für das neue Außenlager von Interfer Rohrunion am Standort Voerde geliefert. Die drei baugleichen Krane des Typs „Steelmaster“ mit jeweils 12 Tonnen Tragfähigkeit übernehmen die Einlagerung von Stahlrohren und Profilen und deren Übergabe zur weiteren Bearbeitung in einem angrenzenden Hallenkomplex.

In dem auf 12.500 Quadratmeter großen neu geschaffenen Außenlager verfahren auf einer 450 Meter langen Kranbahn die drei mit Magnettraversen ausgestatteten und variabel einsetzbaren Demag Einträger-Laufkrane. Über die Krane ist sichergestellt, dass sowohl das ebenfalls neu eingerichtete Hochleistungs-Sägezentrum als auch die Anarbeitung sowie die Zonen für die Beschichtung und Kommissionierung termingerecht mit den jeweils erforderlichen Stahlrohren versorgt werden. Entsprechend hoch waren die branchenspezifischen Anforderungen an die Verfügbarkeit und Umschlagleistung der Krananlagen sowie an deren sicherheitstechnische Auslegung.

Kranlösung folgt der Unternehmensstrategie
„Jährlich werden ca. 100.000 Tonnen Stahlrohre nach Wunsch kommissioniert, gesägt, angearbeitet oder auch beschichtet an unsere internationalen Kunden geliefert“, erklärt Werner Peters, Betriebsleiter bei Interfer Rohrunion. „Um unseren Anspruch, ein Maximum an Dienstleistung und Lieferperformance auch tatsächlich umsetzen zu können, war es für uns wichtig, mit einem Partner wie Demag Cranes zusammen zu arbeiten, der die spezifischen Anforderungen unserer Branche genau kennt und auf dessen Produkt- und Servicequalität gleichermaßen Verlass ist.“

Lutz Dowy, Leiter des Geschäftsbereichs Prozesskrane bei Demag Cranes ergänzt: „Innerhalb des Demag Produktportfolios versteht sich der ‚Steelmaster’ als konsequente Antwort auf die speziellen Prozessanforderungen des Stahlhandels. In der Praxis überzeugt dieser Prozesskran durch flexible Einsatzmöglichkeiten, sichere Handhabung, schnellen Umschlag und minimalen Anlagenverschleiß. Aus wirtschaftlicher Sicht sprechen zudem die hohe Verfügbarkeit sowie die geringen Betriebskosten für den Einsatz des ‚Steelmaster’“.


Ergänzende Informationen:

Flexible Anwendung für vielschichtige Aufgaben
Die drei auf einer gemeinsamen Kranbahn eingesetzten Demag Einträger-Laufkrane verfügen über ein Spurmittenmaß von 27,5 Metern. Sie sind mit jeweils zwei synchronisierten Hubwerken mit je 6,5 Tonnen Tragkraft ausgestattet und für verschiedene Aufgaben variabel einsetzbar. Die Hubwerke sind auf Winkelkatzen angeordnet und verfahren seitlich entlang des Kranträgers. Als Lastaufnahmemittel kommen Magnettraversen zum Einsatz. Sie ermöglichen kurze Anschlagzeiten zur Aufnahme der Rohre und sichern deren schonende Handhabung. Hohe Umschlagleistungen setzen hohe Geschwindigkeiten voraus: Mit Kranfahrten bis zu 80 m/min, Katzfahrten bis zu 30 m/min und lastabhängigen Hubgeschwindigkeiten bis zu 23 m/min. werden die Anforderungen erfüllt.
Die Krane entladen die Lkw, die das Material an drei die Kranbahn kreuzenden Fahrstraßen anliefern. Über diesen Transportweg gelangen die Rohre und Profile über Quertransport-Fahrzeuge auch in die parallel zum Außenlager stehende Anarbeitungshalle.


Sicherheit auch bei Wind und Wetter
Oberste Priorität neben der erforderlichen Leistung der Krane hatte für Interfer Rohrunion das Thema Sicherheit, welches nicht zuletzt auch Einfluss auf die Verfügbarkeit der Anlage hat. So musste einerseits gewährleistet sein, dass es nicht zu Kollisionen der Krane auf der Kranbahn kommt. Dies hat Demag Cranes durch eine integrierte optische Distanzierung gelöst, die den erforderlichen Abstand zwischen den Kranen sicherstellt.

Darüber hinaus sind die Prozesskrane mit einer mechanischen Lastpendeldämpfung ausgestattet. Über eine Seilverspannung in Kran- und Katzfahrrichtung werden Pendelbewegungen auf ein Minimum reduziert. Die Folge: Mehr Sicherheit für Personal, Material und Betrieb sowie höhere Geschwindigkeiten beim Umschlag und eine schonende Handhabung der Rohre.

Da die Krane im Außenlager ständig wechselnden Witterungsverhältnissen ausgesetzt sind, hat Demag Cranes die Hubwerke mit einer Wetterschutzüberdachung ausgestattet. Des Weiteren wurden die Krananlagen mit je zwei elektromechanischen Windsicherungen ausgerüstet, die ungewollte Kranbewegungen bei starkem Wind bzw. Sturm verhindern. Diese Windsicherungen, die sich per Funksteuerung aktivieren lassen, verbinden sich im Bedarfsfall durch Reibschluss mit den beiden Kranschienen.

Über Interfer Rohrunion GmbH
Die Interfer Rohrunion ist innerhalb der Knauf Interfer Gruppe der Spezialist für nahtlose und geschweißte Siede- und Kesselrohre sowie Stahlbauhohlprofile. Seit mehr als 30 Jahren bietet das Unternehmen seinen Kunden mit marktgerechter Lagerhaltung und moderner Logistik eine hohe Liefersicherheit und die Vorteile eines leistungsstarken Partners. Zu den jüngsten Investitionen am Standort in Voerde gehört der Aufbau eines Außenlagers auf einer Fläche von 12.500 m².
In Summe lagert das zur Knauf Interfer Gruppe gehörende Unternehmen auf dem Werksgelände in Voerde heute mehr als 30.000 Tonnen Rohre aller Güten und Abmessungen. Mit der abgeschlossenen Erweiterung der Fertigungs- und Logistikstrukturen am Standort Voerde bietet Interfer Rohrunion einen noch effizienteren Service und eine noch schnellere Auftragsabwicklung.
 

Über Demag Cranes
Demag Cranes ist einer der weltweit führenden Anbieter von Industriekranen und Krankomponenten, Hafenkranen und Technologien zur Hafenautomatisierung. Services, insbesondere Instandhaltung und Modernisierung, sind ein weiteres Kernelement des Leistungsspektrums. Der Konzern ist in die Geschäftsbereiche (Segmente) Industriekrane, Hafentechnologie und Services gegliedert und verfügt mit Demag und Gottwald über starke und etablierte Marken. Demag Cranes sieht seine Kernkompetenz in der Entwicklung und Konstruktion technisch anspruchsvoller Krane und Hebezeuge sowie von automatisierten Transport- und Logistiksystemen in Häfen, der Erbringung von Serviceleistungen für diese Produkte und der Fertigung hochwertiger Komponenten.

Als globaler Anbieter produziert Demag Cranes in 16 Ländern auf fünf Kontinenten und betreibt über Tochtergesellschaften wie die Demag Cranes & Components GmbH und die Gottwald Port Technology GmbH, Vertretungen und ein Joint Venture ein weltweites Vertriebs- und Servicenetz mit Präsenz in mehr als 60 Ländern. Im Geschäftsjahr 2010/2011 erwirtschafteten 6.115 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter einen Umsatz von 1.062,3 Mio. EUR. Seit August 2011 gehört das Unternehmen mehrheitlich zur amerikanischen Terex-Gruppe (www.terex.com).

Demag Cranes AG. We Can Handle It.

 

 

Pressemitteilung herunterladen (PDF | 84,6 KB)


Vorbehalt bei Zukunftsaussagen
Diese Pressemitteilung enthält zukunftsgerichtete Aussagen, die sich auf das Geschäft, die finanzielle Entwicklung und die Erträge der Demag Cranes AG oder ihrer Tochter- und Beteiligungsgesellschaften beziehen. Zukunftsgerichtete Aussagen beruhen auf den gegenwärtigen Plänen, Schätzungen, Prognosen und Erwartungen und unterliegen daher Risiken und Unsicherheitsfaktoren, von denen die meisten schwierig einzuschätzen sind und die im Allgemeinen außerhalb der Kontrolle der Demag Cranes AG liegen. Die Demag Cranes AG übernimmt deshalb keine Gewähr dafür, dass die Erwartungen und Ziele, die in den zukunftsgerichteten Aussagen ausdrücklich oder implizit angenommen werden, erreicht werden. Die Demag Cranes AG beabsichtigt auch nicht und übernimmt keine Verpflichtung, eine Aktualisierung dieser zukunftsgerichteten Aussagen zu veröffentlichen

Zurück zur Übersicht

Ihr Ansprechpartner


Neuigkeiten

alle Neuigkeiten | RSS Feed


 
 

© Terex MHPS GmbH