Intuitive guided load handling with the Demag E-balancer

Duesseldorf,   31.10.2012

  • Controlling lifting and lowering motions by touching the load
  • Exact positioning for assembly and joining operations
The Demag E-balancer, a newly developed handling device, can be used for the extremely smooth and gentle handling of components and for positioning workpieces with ease and maximum precision.

 

The E-balancer acts like an extension to the operator’s arm. At the same time, lifting and lowering motions can be precisely controlled using the ergonomic D-Grip operating handle. The operator can switch over from this “grip control” mode to “load control”. He can then handle the load direct and can control the E-balancer simply and intuitively by slight movements without any need for a man/machine interface.
A sophisticated electronic control system provides for highly precise and gentle positioning. Thanks to its simple and intuitive user interface, the E-balancer provides workers with a tangible boost in efficiency and allows them to concentrate on assembly processes.

Precisely held in balance
The Demag E-balancer can be used for guiding and positioning loads very carefully and with a high level of safety and reliability.This work includes tasks such as changing tools on injection moulding machines, positioning workpieces in machine-tool jigs and the assembly of components and machinery.
 
The electronic control system provides various operating modes to allow the E-balancer to be matched the specific operating conditions precisely. This function enables all load pick-up, transport and positioning applications to be implemented to meet your exact needs. The operating mode can be selected via the D-Grip operating handle or provided automatically.

Electronic load detection makes it possible to achieve precise positioning.The E-balancer micro-processor control system detects the current load and automatically holds it in perfect balance when at rest – without any specific position tolerances.A slight movement of the hand in the required direction is sufficient to guide the load gently in a fluid motion and to position it with millimetre precision.Consequently, the operator can guide the load with ease – heavy loads become almost weightless and can be positioned down to the last millimetre.

Special operating modes for high precision
Two special modes make handling operations safe and simple to complete when loads have to be picked up and parts need to be positioned.In load pick-up mode, the E-balancer adjusts to meet actual needs of the application and only permits the required force to be exerted.For example, when a sensitive tool is being handled in a jaw chuck, the system ensures that the operator cannot exert too much or too little force on the load held by the chuck.The E-balancer prevents the load from moving when the chuck is opened to remove the tool and prevents forces from developing that might cause damage.In assembly mode, the E-balancer suppresses any oscillation with uncontrolled movements of the load and makes it easier for the operator to position parts.
 
Three sizes for efficient operation

The E-balancer only operates with an electric power supply; thanks to its plug-&-play connections, it can be quickly put into operation.Any cabling and wiring or complicated maintenance of an additional media supply, e.g. with compressed air, are not required.Equipped with rugged technology designed for industrial applications, the E-balancer is offered with load capacities of 80, 125 and 160 kg.These units are rated for a lifting speed of 35 m/min. They are equipped with a tough rope guide on one rope drum and have a maximum lifting height of 2,200 mm.

Optimum ergonomics
The D-Grip unit, which is connected to the E-balancer by a helical cable, enables the handling device to be controlled ergonomically with fatigue-free single-handed operation.The system is even more ergonomic thanks to its ability to switch over to guided load control mode – the E-balancer then responds to slight pressure exerted by the operator.
 
Safe in any operating mode

The load is securely held by means of a slipping clutch arrangement and continuously monitored in all operating modes.Limit switches and lifting force limitation are integrated as monitoring functions.The brake is immediately applied and the load is securely held in the event of a power failure.In addition, a photo sensor in the operating handle protects it from unauthorised actuation. Displays on the unit and the D-Grip also provide for a high level of transparency within the installation.They are used to indicate the current operating status and show when maintenance work is due in good time.

Adjustable parameters
The specific parameter settings required for a given application can be programmed via an external hand-held terminal or a laptop.The selected parameters can be saved as a data record. This enables them to be uploaded into a replacement unit or to be used for new units that are set up for similar workplaces.
The variables that can be configured to meet specific requirements include
 
- Minimum and maximum lifting speeds
- Acceleration/deceleration
- Ramps for start-up/stopping (gradient/limit value)
- Speed limitation
- Minimum and maximum torque for balancer operation
- Function assignment of the buttons

- Load limitation

Versatile application
Based on industrial mechanical components that are tried and tested all over the world, the E-balancer is designed for operation in harsh industrial applications and can be easily adapted to match changing requirements and future production processes.The E-balancer can be equipped with various load attachment systems via a quick-release coupling.For such requirements, Demag offers a wide selection of load hooks, crate, shaft and other grippers.Customer-specific gripping devices can, of course, also be connected.
 
Compatible with the construction kit system

As a newly developed compact hoist unit, the E-balancer is compatible with the Demag construction kit system.For example, it can travel easily along the KBK light crane system rails of single-girder suspension cranes, pillar and wall-mounted slewing jibs and suspension monorail systems.For operation on I-section profiles, the E-balancer can be combined with Demag U-type push-travel trolleys and Click-fit CF trolleys.

Demag E-balancer: technical data
 
Load capacity
[kg]
80
125
160
Max. lifting speed
[m/min]
35
Lifting height
[mm]
2.200
Rope diameter
[mm]
5
FEM group of mechanisms
 
3m
2m
1Am
Supply voltage
[V AC]
380 - 480
Frequency
[Hz]
50/60
Control
[V DC]
24
Output
[kW]
0,94
Hoist motor duty factor
[%]
60
30
Noise at a distance of 1m
[dbA]
< 79
Housing dimensions (W/L/H)
[mm]
335 / 640 / 205
Weight
[kg]
30
Temperature range
[°C]
- 10 to + 40

 


 

back to overview

Press contact

Terex MHPS GmbH - Wetter location
Mr. Christoph Kreutzenbeck
Ruhrstrasse 28
58300 Wetter
Germany
 
 

Phone: +49 (0) 2335 92-3907
Fax: +49 (0) 2335 92-53907
E-Mail: Contact by mail


 

 
 

© Terex MHPS GmbH

Intuitive Lastführung mit dem Demag E-Balancer

Düsseldorf,   31.10.2012

   
  • Hub- und Senkbefehle durch Berühren der Last
  • Exakte Positionierung beim Montieren und Fügen

Empfindliche Bauteile äußerst sanft und feinfühlig führen, Werkstücke mit Leichtigkeit und höchster Präzision positionieren. Diese Aufgaben übernimmt in Zukunft der Demag E-Balancer, ein vollständig elektronisch gesteuertes, ergonomisches Handhabungsgerät. 

Der E-Balancer agiert wie der verlängerte Arm des Bedieners. Dabei lassen sich über den ergonomischen Bediengriff D-Grip präzise Befehle zum Heben und Absenken der Last geben. Von diesem „Griffführung“ genannten Modus kann der Bediener umschalten in den Modus „Lastführung“. Dann fasst er die Last direkt an und kann dem E-Balancer ohne jegliche Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle durch leichte Impulse ganz einfach und intuitiv Fahrbefehle erteilen.
Eine leistungsfähige elektronische Steuerung schafft dabei die Voraussetzung für sehr genaues, feinfühliges Positionieren. Durch seine einfache und intuitive Benutzerführung unterstützt der E-Balancer die Prozesse für effizientes Arbeiten, der Mitarbeiter wird spürbar entlastet und kann sich auf die Montageprozesse konzentrieren.

 

Präzises Halten der Balance
Mit dem Demag E-Balancer lassen sich Aufgaben zum Führen und Fügen von Lasten sehr feinfühlig und mit hoher Sicherheit erledigen. Dazu gehören das Wechseln der Werkzeuge von Spritzgießmaschinen ebenso wie das Einpassen von Werkstücken in Spannvorrichtungen oder die Montage von Bauteilen und Maschinen.
Um den E-Balancer an die spezifischen Einsatzbedingungen passgenau anzupassen stellt die elektronische Steuerung verschiedene Betriebsarten zur Verfügung. Mit dieser Funktion lassen sich alle Aufgaben zum Aufnehmen, Transportieren und Positionieren von Lasten exakt umsetzen. Die Betriebsart ist über den Bediengriff D-Grip wählbar oder wird automatisch bereitgestellt.
Die elektronische Lasterfassung schafft die Voraussetzung für die genaue Positionierbarkeit. Die Mikroprozessorsteuerung des E-Balancers erkennt die aktuelle Last und hält im Ruhezustand stets exakt und selbsttätig die Balance – ohne spezifische Lagetoleranzen. Eine leichte Handbewegung in die gewünschte Richtung genügt, um die Last in fließenden Bewegungen sanft zu führen und millimetergenau zu positionieren. Die Folge für den Bediener: Er kann die Last ganz einfach führen – Schweres wird leicht und ist millimetergenau positionierbar.
 
Besondere Betriebsmodi für hohe Präzision
Für die Lastaufnahme sowie das Fügen von Teilen gibt es zwei besondere Betriebsmodi, die diese Handlingsvorgänge einfach und sicher machen. Im Modus Lastaufnahme stellt sich der E-Balancer auf die jeweilige Anforderung ein und lässt nur die dafür exakt benötigte Kraft zu. Beispiel: Beim Handling eines empfindlichen Werkzeugs in einem Spannfutter wird sichergestellt, dass der Bediener nicht zu wenig oder zu viel Kraft aufwendet, um an der noch in dem Spannfutter fixierten Last zu ziehen. Der E-Balancer verhindert, dass sich bei der Herausnahme des Werkzeugs die Last beim Öffnen des Spannfutters bewegt und damit Kräfte entstehen, die zu Beschädigungen führen. Im Fügemodus, unterdrückt der E-Balancer ein mögliches Aufschwingen mit unkontrollierten Bewegungen der Last und erleichtert dem Bediener das Fügen von Bauteilen.
 
Drei Baugrößen für wirtschaftlichen Betrieb
Der E-Balancer wird ausschließlich mit elektrischer Energie betrieben, durch Plug & Play-Anschlüsse ist er schnell betriebsbereit. Eine Installation sowie die aufwändige Unterhaltung einer zusätzlichen Medienversorgung z. B. mit Druckluft entfallen. Ausgerüstet mit einer industrietauglichen robusten Technologie wird der E-Balancer mit Tragfähigkeiten von 80, 125 und 160 kg angeboten. Die Geräte sind ausgelegt für eine Hubgeschwindigkeit von 35 m/min. Sie zeichnen sich durch eine solide Seilführung auf einer Rillentrommel aus und verfügen über eine maximale Hubhöhe von 2.200 mm.
 
Höchstmaß an Ergonomie
Der über eine Wendelleitung mit dem E-Balancer verbundene D-Grip erlaubt die ergonomische und ermüdungsfreie Einhandbedienung des Handhabungsgerätes. Noch ergonomischer wird das System durch die Umschaltung auf Lastführung – dann reagiert der E-Balancer auf den leichten Druck, den der Bediener auf die Last ausübt.
 
Sicher in jedem Betriebszustand
Die Last wird in jedem Betriebszustand mit Hilfe einer Rutschkupplung sicher gehalten und permanent überwacht. Als Überwachungsfunktionen sind Endschalter und Hubkraftbegrenzer integriert. Bei Energieausfall fällt sofort die Bremse ein, die Last wird sicher gehalten. Zudem schütz eine Lichtschranke im Bediengriff vor unbeabsichtigter Betätigung. Darüber hinaus sorgen Anzeigen am Gerät und im D-Grip für eine hohe Anlagentransparenz. Sie signalisieren aktuelle Betriebszustände und zeigen rechtzeitig Wartungsintervalle an.
 
Parameter einstellbar
Die für den jeweiligen Einsatzfall spezifischen Einstellungen lassen sich über ein externes Handterminal oder einen Laptop parametrieren. Die gewählten Parameter sind als Datensatz speicherbar. Somit können sie in ein Austauschgerät geladen oder beim Aufbau vergleichbarer Arbeitsplätze für neue Geräte genutzt werden.
Zu den individuell konfigurierbaren Größen gehören
 
- Hubgeschwindigkeiten Min/Max
- Beschleunigung/Verzögerung
- Rampen für Anfahrt / Stopp (Steigung /Endwert)
- Geschwindigkeitsbegrenzung
- Min. und Max. Drehmoment für Balancierbetrieb
- Funktionsbelegung der Taster
- Lastbegrenzung
 
Universell einsetzbar
Auf der Basis weltweit bewährter mechanischer Industriekomponenten ist der E-Balancer ausgelegt für die Nutzung im harten Industrieeinsatz und er lässt sich an wandelnde Aufgabenstellungen und zukünftige Produktionsprozesse leicht anpassen. Über eine Schnellwechselkupplung kann der E-Balancer mit verschiedenen Lastaufnahmesystemen ausgerüstet werden. Demag bietet dazu eine große Auswahl von Lasthaken, Kisten-, Wellen- und anderen Greifern. Selbstverständlich können auch individuelle Greifvorrichtungen angekuppelt werden.
 
Kompatibel mit dem Systembaukasten
Als neu entwickeltes Kompakthebezeug ist der E-Balancer kompatibel mit dem Demag Systembaukasten. Er lässt sich z.B. leicht in den Schienen des Leichtkransystems KBK verfahren: an Hängekranen in Einträgerbauweise, an Wand- und Säulenschwenkkranen sowie an System-Hängebahnen. Für den Einsatz an I-Profilen ist der E-Balancer kombinierbar mit den Demag Rollfahrwerken der Baureihe U sowie den Click-fit-Fahrwerken CF.
 
Demag E-Balancer: Technischen Daten
 
Tragfähigkeit
[kg]
80
125
160
Max. Hubgeschwindigkeit
[m/min]
35
Hubhöhe
[mm]
2.200
Seildurchmesser
[mm]
5
Triebwerkgruppe FEM
 
3m
2m
1Am
Versorgungsspannung
[V AC]
380 - 480
Frequenz
[Hz]
50/60
Steuerung
[V DC]
24
Leistung
[kW]
0,94
Einschaltdauer Hubmotor
[%]
60
30
Geräusch bei 1m Abstand
[dbA]
< 79
Gehäuseabmessungen (B/L/H)
[mm]
335 / 640 / 205
Gewicht
[kg]
30
Temperaturbereich
[°C]
- 10 bis + 40

 


 

Zurück zur Übersicht

Pressekontakt

Terex MHPS GmbH - Standort Wetter
Herr Christoph Kreutzenbeck
Ruhrstraße 28
58300 Wetter
Deutschland
 
 

Telefon: +49 (0) 2335 92-3907
Fax: +49 (0) 2335 92-53907
E-Mail: Kontakt per E-Mail


 

 
 

© Terex MHPS GmbH